Baby Love · Self Reflections

Breastfeeding (Discreetly) in Public

Because I am still breastfeeding my now 8-month old baby, I can’t help breastfeeding him while we’re out of the house. For example, when we go out to the mall, or even to other places. Because my baby will starve if I don’t breastfeed him. And I made it a rule that whenever I’m at home, or, I’m with my baby, he will feed from me, even if I have pumped breastmilk.

At first, I was a little shy. Because I don’t see a lot of mommies breastfeeding their child especially when their on the malls. I only see mommies who drop pre-measured formula milk on the bottle, add water, and then feed it to their baby. It’s a good thing though that at our church, there are also nursing moms like me. So, it has added to my confidence to breastfeed my baby even in public.

But because I am a typically timid girl, a bit shy about everything, I’m not at ease breastfeeding my baby in public just that! Although I breastfeed my baby at home and don’t care if my sister or sister-in-law or my baby’s nanny will see my breast, but in public? Let’s just say, I don’t have that much confidence.

That is why I need the help of my ever reliable nursing bib. It was given to me by Dna as a baby shower gift. At first, I thought it will just be a luxury, because it’s way too expensive for me. She bought it for P800.00+ at SM North Edsa department store baby section. But after I’ve learned how to use it and really got the hang of it, it has actually been my favorite and a cannot-leave-home-without item.

Aside from it being a nursing bib, I also use it sometimes to cover up Lukas, especially when he’s asleep in his stroller, like a blanket.

Sleeping baby with nursing bib as blanket

I’ve seen Ate Colyn also use one during Mariel’s 3rd birthday celebration. But the one she have is wider. I think it’s called a nursing cover. I think that kind would be helpful to us these days, as more and more, Lukas is fidgety nowadays, considering he’s already 8 months. So sometimes, with our nursing bib, he pulls it off him. Good thing mommy is almost always alert, ready to cover up every time our baby tries this trick.

Maybe, I’ll try the nursing cover next. Cause I don’t plan on giving up breastfeeding just yet. And since it’s becoming harder and harder for our baby to keep still, I would need a wider cover while we’re in public. Or, I might try sewing my own nursing cover. I’ve found some instructions and patterns online that might help me with this. And actually, I am a little inspired of doing something like this, rather than buying one, since it costs somewhere between 500-1000 depending on the design. At least, if I’m the one who’s going to make, I can choose the design, since I’ll be the one to buy the fabric.

Sooner or later, when our Lukas is somewhere between 1 to 2 years old, I would have to think for another plan to be able to breastfeed him in public. The breastfeeding station in Trinoma is exclusively for Ayala A Card holders, one of their privilege. And I’m not a cardholder. I don’t know if their re-opening the application. Because I think the cards are valid only til December 31 this year. If so, I would love to get one, if only to be able to use their breastfeeding room. I haven’t checked with if SM North has a breastfeeding room. Maybe, I should check on this one too. Other malls that have breastfeeding/nursing rooms are not QC based. And we haven’t gone as far as that. But I would love to use these amenities when we’re at Rustan’s Makati or MOA or Megamall for example.

For those kuripot but artistic & patient moms willing to try sew their own nursing covers, here are a few sites that offer instructions and how to’s:
Craftbits
Handmade-Adelaide-Baby
Blisstree

Happy BFing (discreetly) in public!

What do you think?